Officers at the siege of Derry

1693: Warrant to Lord Sydney to pay the officers, and widows of officers, who were of the garrison in Londonderry the sums specified in the annexed list. [Signet Office Letter Book 13, p. 7.] 
Annexing:—List of officers and officers' widows, viz.: 

Colonels: Hugh Hamill, Richard Crofton, Henry Monrow, Adam Murray and Thomas Blair; 

Lt.–Col: William Campbell; 

Majors: John Dobbin, George Holmes, Nathaniel Bull and Graham's widow; 

Captains: Christophilus Jenny, Alexander Saunderson, Robert Baird, James Harrison, John Kinniston, Nicholas Holmes, George Irwin, John Fleming, John Crofton, Hugh Blair, Frederick Edmonds, Abraham Hillhouse, Benjamin Wilkins, Henry Lane, Samuel Jones, Joshua Pilot, William McCormick, William Taylor, Henry Campsey, Andrew Adam's widow, William Gore, Francis Graham, Mary Godfrey, widow; 

Adjutants: Thomas Baker and Alexander Rankin

Quartermaster: John Griffith; 

Lieutenants: Robert Louther, John Fuller, Richard Kean, James Tracey, William Mason, William Stewart, Richard Coomes, Bernard Smith, John Cooke, Roger Holland, Daniel Sherrard, Robert King, Thomas Adderton, Francis Butler, James Wallace, James Gardner, Patrick Doran, Andrew Hunter; 

Ensigns: Robert Walker, John Hunter, William Montgomery, Francis Irwin, Oliver Aplin, Allan Hinson, John Henderson, David Burk, Samuel Irwin, Joseph Ferron's widow, William Dobbs, Charles Auberry, and Margaret Faulconer, widow; Samuel Johnston, corporal of horse, Mary Guthery, widow; and Christophilus Jenny as chaplain. [Ibid., p. 8.]

'William and Mary: June 1693', in Calendar of State Papers Domestic: William and Mary, 1693, ed. William John Hardy (London, 1903), pp. 165-208. British History Online


Popular posts from this blog

Hearth Money Rolls 1660s

The Siege of Derry 1688-1689

Limavady street names from the past